Support Centre

You have out of 5 free articles left for the month

Signup for a trial to access unlimited content.

Start Trial

Continue reading on DataGuidance with:

Free Member

Limited Articles

Create an account to continue accessing select articles, resources, and guidance notes.

Free Trial

Unlimited Access

Start your free trial to access unlimited articles, resources, guidance notes, and workspaces.

Russia: Roskomnadzor updates data protection adequacy list

The Federal Service for the Supervision of Communications, Information Technology and Mass Communications ('Roskomnadzor') issued, on 23 September 2022, an updated list of foreign countries that provide adequate protection of the rights of personal data subjects. In particular, the Roskomnadzor highlighted that the countries recognised as adequate include countries that are party to the Convention for the Protection of Individuals with Regard to Automatic Processing of Personal Data ('Convention 108') and countries that are not party to Convention 108, but whose laws and measures are consistent with its provisions. 

More specifically, the Roskomnadzor clarified that the conditions for the inclusion of a state in the list is the existence of a comprehensive regulatory legal act regulating the sphere of personal data, the presence in the country of an authorised body for the protection of the rights of subjects of personal data, and a system of sanctions provided for violation of the requirements of legislation in this area.

Furthermore, the Roskomnadzor outlined that the list includes 89 states, among others:

  • Australia;
  • Gabon;
  • Israel;
  • Qatar;
  • Canada;
  • Kyrgyzstan;
  • China;
  • Thailand;
  • Malaysia;
  • Mongolia;
  • Bangladesh;
  • New Zealand;
  • Angola;
  • Belarus;
  • Benin;
  • Zambia;
  • India;
  • Kazakhstan;
  • Costa Rica;
  • South Korea;
  • Ivory Coast;
  • Mali;
  • Niger;
  • Peru;
  • Singapore;
  • Tajikistan;
  • Uzbekistan;
  • Chad;
  • Vietnam;
  • Togo;
  • Brazil;
  • Nigeria;
  • South Africa; and
  • Japan.

Finally, the Roskomnadzor noted that the updated list will enter into effect on 1 March 2023.

You can read the announcement here and the list here, both only available in Russian.