Support Centre

You have out of 5 free articles left for the month

Signup for a trial to access unlimited content.

Start Trial

Continue reading on DataGuidance with:

Free Member

Limited Articles

Create an account to continue accessing select articles, resources, and guidance notes.

Free Trial

Unlimited Access

Start your free trial to access unlimited articles, resources, guidance notes, and workspaces.

Ireland: Government announces appointment of new Data Protection Commissioners

On February 13, 2024, the Government of Ireland announced the appointment of two new Data Protection Commissioners, Dr. Des Hogan and Mr. Dale Sunderland. Their appointments will take effect from February 20, 2024, for a five-year term. In particular, Hogan has been appointed as Chairperson by the Minister. Following a review by the Department of Justice into how best to support this growth, the Government decided to appoint two additional Commissioners who were selected following an open completion run by the Public Appointments Service.

The Government highlighted that the Data Protection Commission (DPC) is resourced to carry out its critical and independent role and that the DPC received an allocation of €28.1 million under its 2024 Budget, almost an eightfold increase on its 2015 allocation of €3.6 million. The Minister for Justice, Helen McEntee TD, also paid tribute to the outgoing Data Protection Commissioner, Helen Dixon, whose tenure comes to an end on February 19, 2024, after almost a decade in the post.

You can read the press release here.