Support Centre

You have out of 5 free articles left for the month

Signup for a trial to access unlimited content.

Start Trial

Continue reading on DataGuidance with:

Free Member

Limited Articles

Create an account to continue accessing select articles, resources, and guidance notes.

Free Trial

Unlimited Access

Start your free trial to access unlimited articles, resources, guidance notes, and workspaces.

EU: Commission designates six gatekeepers under DMA

The European Commission announced, on September 6, 2023, that it had designated, for the first time, six gatekeepers under the Digital Markets Act (DMA), which entered into force in November 2022 and became applicable from May 2, 2023. The six gatekeepers are: Alphabet, Amazon, Apple, ByteDance, Meta, and Microsoft.

Further to the above, the Commission explained that the designation follows a 45-day review process conducted by the Commission after the notification by Alphabet, Amazon, Apple, ByteDance, Meta, Microsoft, and Samsung of their potential status as gatekeepers. In this regard, the Commission outlined that it had opened four market investigations to further assess Microsoft's and Apple's submissions arguing that, despite meeting the thresholds, some of their core platform services do not qualify as gateways.

The six gatekeepers will now have six months to ensure full compliance with the DMA obligations for each of their designated core platform services. However, the Commission also reminded that some of the obligations will start applying as of the designation, such as the obligation to inform the Commission of any intended concentration.

You can read the announcement here.