Support Centre

You have out of 5 free articles left for the month

Signup for a trial to access unlimited content.

Start Trial

Continue reading on DataGuidance with:

Free Member

Limited Articles

Create an account to continue accessing select articles, resources, and guidance notes.

Free Trial

Unlimited Access

Start your free trial to access unlimited articles, resources, guidance notes, and workspaces.

EU: Commission launches infringement procedures against Member States for failure to transpose Whistleblowing Directive

The Estonian Ministry of Justice confirmed, on 28 January 2022, that the European Commission had initiated infringement procedures against Member States for failing to transpose the Directive on the Protection of Persons who Report Breaches of Union Law (Directive (EU) 2019/1937) ('the Whistleblowing Directive') before 17 December 2021.

In this regard, according to the Commission's website, letters of formal notice had been sent, on 27 January 2022, to Austria, Belgium, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Germany, Denmark, Estonia, Greece, Spain, Finland, France, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Latvia, Netherlands, Poland, Romania, Slovenia, and Slovakia.

You can read the Ministry's press release, only available in Estonian, here and track the Commission's infringement cases here.